Michigan Dispensaries & Cannabis Consultants
Higher Yields Cannabis Consultants offers a full range of cannabis consulting services in the state of Michigan. Our vertically integrated consulting system offers a path to business success. From startup to scaling, get expert knowledge on Michigan dispensaries, expansion of your cannabis-related business and everything in between. Our team of industry experts can help. If you have any questions please contact us online or call (844) HI-YIELD.
Important Compliance Considerations for METRC in Michigan
As part of the most regulated industry in history, cannabis operators face intense scrutiny from local and state governments. METRC, a seed-to-sale tracking system, helps operators stay compliant by creating an easily identifiable chain of custody for each cannabis product. Using METRC makes recalls easy and ensures accountability.
Mandated in 15 states plus Washington D.C., METRC is similar everywhere. However, there are nuances in each state. In order to remain compliant, businesses must be aware of and adhere to their state’s specific regulations.
Michigan’s goal is to “establish Michigan as the national model for a regulatory program that stimulates business growth while preserving safe consumer access to marijuana.”
Although its system is very similar to those of other states, Michigan has a booming market and few issues, making it one of the most successful cannabis states. Here at Higher Yields, we want to know how Michigan has achieved so much success. We’ll keep an eye out so we can share successful strategies with operators in other states.
Michigan Dispensaries & Regulatory Licensing Status, Cultivation, processing, and manufacturing
Michigan became the tenth state in the US to legalize recreational cannabis when it passed the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act in 2018. Recreational sales began on December 1, 2019. Here are some of the rules and regulations you must follow in our state if you are considering opening a cannabis-related business.
Contact Us to discuss cannabis Licensing Opportunities in Michigan
Licensing for retail adult use cannabis sales requires a qualifications review, which includes a background check, and a physical inspection of the proposed establishment. Those applying to Michigan dispensaries with existing medical cannabis operating licenses are currently fast-tracked
All Michigan dispensaries’ requirements and forms are available here.
In Michigan, dispensaries make applications which are reviewed and processed by the state’s Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA), which oversees licensing requirements and compliance within 90 days. Michigan dispensaries charge an application fee of $6,000; municipalities may impose additional fees of up to $5,000.
Once approved, retailers must pay a $25,000 initial fee and $44,000 for regulatory assessment every year. Sales are taxed at 10 percent.
The state has no limit on the number of licenses that can be issued, but municipalities may limit or even restrict how many facilities open in their jurisdictions. About 80 percent of the state’s cities, towns, and townships have laws prohibiting adult-use dispensaries.
As of February 2020, adult-use sales in Michigan generated $17.7 million and $2.9 million in new taxes. At the same time, the state’s Marijuana Regulatory Agency had approved licenses for 43 adult-use Michigan dispensaries, 18 growers, and seven processors.
Michigan Cannabis Consulting services
At Higher Yields Cannabis Consulting (HYC), our cannabis consultants are here to assist you with planning and building your cannabis business in Michigan . Our team of canna advisors are well-versed in Michigan’s dispensaries, local laws on compliance, and we offer services that assist you in building your brand, creating your marketing plan, designing your website and assets, crafting your social media presence, and much more to help your business see success.
Contact us at (844) HI-YIELD to learn how we can assist you.
Michigan Cannabis Cultivation
In Michigan, a “grower license” allows a grower to cultivate — as well as process and package — cannabis for sale to a provisioning center or a processor. Licensing classes are based on volume:
- Class A: up to 100 plants
- Class B: up to 500 plants
- Class C: up to 2,000 plants
- Mega-grower: more than 2,000 plants (must hold five Class C licenses)
The application fee for all four classes is $6000. Initial licensure fees range from $4000 to $40,000, and varying renewal fees apply. A new application process is required for each class.
Cultivation must take place outdoors in an area contiguous with the building. The growing area and the plants must be blocked from public view and comply with strict security measures.
Processing and Manufacturing in Michigan
A “Processor license” allows business owners to ready their cannabis for consumption. A processor license authorizes purchase of cannabis only from a grower and sale of cannabis-infused products or cannabis only to a provisioning center or another processor.
The application fee for a processor license is $40,000 and the applicant must show $300,000 of capitalization with only 25% of that allowed to be liquid assets. To be eligible for a processor license, the applicant and each investor in the processor must not have an interest in a secure transporter or safety compliance facility.
Licenses are also available for designated consumption establishments, testing facilities, microbusinesses, and marijuana secure transporter.
Schedule a Consultation to Discuss our Hemp Business Services
Address 2590 Walnut St., Denver, CO, 80205